Category: Review


Spotlight + Giveaway: The Purest Hook by Scarlett Cole

Spotlight + Giveaway: The Purest Hook by Scarlett Cole

Can heavy metal rock God, Dred, put his turbulent upbringing in a Toronto group home behind him long enough to fall in love and save Pix from her past? Find out in THE PUREST HOOK by RITA nominee, Scarlett Cole and St. Martin’s Press. Fans of Laura Kaye’s Hard Ink series or Kylie Scott’s Stage Dive books will fall in love with the tattooed heroes of the Second Circle Tattoos! Excerpt Pyrotechnics went off all the way around the stage as the crowd screamed and cheered. He hugged each of the guys, then ran off the stage to pull Pixie from Harper and Drea. The break between the end of the […]

Posted May 10, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment

Review: Worth It All (The McKinney Brothers #3) by Claudia Connor

Review: Worth It All (The McKinney Brothers #3) by Claudia Connor

Karla’s Review  5 Stars!! My goodness did I enjoy this book! This inspiring story delivers a heartfelt message about overcoming adversity and forgiveness. It also depicts the resilience of children and how they view the world and triumph over life’s challenges in a most simplistic manner. Claudia Connor takes chances with her storylines and it’s what draws me to The McKinney Brothers series again and again. While I had an issue with one of her characters in the first book, Worth the Fall, the couple pairing and family dynamic was unique and for the most part I enjoyed the read. Her debut book impressed me enough that I couldn’t wait for […]

Posted May 9, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Flashback Friday Favorite: A Breach of Promise (The Rules of Engagement #1) by Victoria Vane

Flashback Friday Favorite: A Breach of Promise (The Rules of Engagement #1) by Victoria Vane

Reviews Kristen says: 4.5 Stars! WOW! What an unexpected surprise A Breach of Promise turned out to be! I was captivated, riveted, and charmed by this superbly written short story. I’m in awe of Ms. Vane’s ability to write a novella that is not only historically detailed, engaging, and cleverly contrived, but simultaneously sweeps the reader into a world full of richly developed characters, and terrific, witty dialogue. The cast of characters in this short story were simply amazing for a novella. I can honestly say, I don’t think I’ve read a more charming, delightful, and so full of himself hero! Marcus was such a weasel. I couldn’t help but love the conceited rake. I absolutely […]

Posted May 6, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review + Giveaway: Doing It Over by Catherine Bybee

Review + Giveaway: Doing It Over by Catherine Bybee

We’re thrilled to welcome Catherine Bybee back to the blog. Crista and Steffi are both huge fans of this author’s work and have religiously read her books. Today, Steffi reviews Doing It Over, the first book in Catherine’s new Most Likely To series. Check out the review below and don’t forget to enter the Giveaway. Catherine is very generously giving away a Kindle to one lucky winner and a $50 Amazon GC each to 2 runner-ups. Good Luck! Steffi’s Review 5 stars! Catherine Bybee has done it again! Her new Most Likely To series has strong addiction potential! Doing It Over introduces Melanie, Jo and Zoe who are best friends in […]

Posted May 4, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Blog Tour, Review / 1 Comment

I’m All Ears ~ An Audiobook Review: Sidebarred (The Legal Briefs #3.5) by Emma Chase

I’m All Ears ~ An Audiobook Review: Sidebarred (The Legal Briefs #3.5) by Emma Chase

Karla’s Review 5++ Feel Good Stars! A delightful sweet treat for readers whose hearts were captured by the charming characters in Sustained. This novella brings us up to speed on Jake, Chelsea and their adorable brood of kiddies along with Stanton and Sofia from Overruled, and Brent and Kennedy from Appealed. I was thrilled when I realized that Emma Chase was going to top this amazing series off with another chance for readers to re-visit with all the characters we fell  in love with in the Legal Brief series. The characters remain true to themselves and the author doesn’t drag the plot down with unnecessary angst but instead gives readers an […]

Posted May 2, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Midnight Quest: A ‘Men of Midnight’ Short Novel (Midnight Men, #4.5) by Lisa Marie Rice

Review: Midnight Quest: A ‘Men of Midnight’ Short Novel (Midnight Men, #4.5)  by Lisa Marie Rice

Dorsey’s Review 4 Soul Searching Stars!! We were introduced to Lauren and Jacko in Midnight Vengeance. Jacko has always been a loner, other than his SEAL family he has no family ties, his junkie mother died years earlier and he never knew who his father was or if he has any blood family left at all. He never had a home or felt any kind of tenderness until Lauren. He totally and completely loves Lauren, without question, she is his heart, his soul….his home. When Lauren drops a bombshell on him he panics and goes in search of his roots, what he finds out about his mother and his grandparents is […]

Posted April 30, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Flashback Friday: My One and Only by Kristan Higgins

Flashback Friday: My One and Only by Kristan Higgins

Karla’s Review 5 Stars! Wonderful! A sweet story about getting it right the second time around. Lots of great characters, especially Harper and Nick. He’s so laid back and willing to let life play itself out and she over-thinks things and acts on a whim. Yet they are perfect for each other. Harper’s feelings were so well written and even though her personality was annoying at times, my heart just broke for her. Nick’s declaration of love just warmed me through and through. You’ll find yourself placing your hand over your heart and breathing out a happy sigh. Loved it! My One and Only is a keeper! A feel good book […]

Posted April 29, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Compelled (Vampires in America #10.5) by D.B. Reynolds

Review: Compelled (Vampires in America #10.5) by D.B. Reynolds

Dorsey’s Review 5 Compelling Stars!!! D.B.Reynolds delivers once again in Compelled!! We are treated to an enthralling, fast-paced, entertaining and passionate Vampires in America novella! Two impossibly powerful alphas, who have enough distrust and hatred for one another to cause Cyn headaches are thrown together for a common goal; find the manacles that imprisoned Raphael in Deception, but will the love they share for Cyn be enough to prevent the violence they both want to unleash on one another? “Vampire,” he said by way of greeting. “Sorcerer.” “Human!” she sang out in disgust. -Nick, Raphael, and Cyn  Cyn is called upon to uphold the promise she made to Nick to help […]

Posted April 28, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: The Beast by J.R. Ward

Review: The Beast by J.R. Ward

Reviews Dorsey says: 5 Beautiful Beast Stars!! Rhage, aka “Hollywood” is the most handsome brother who’s cursed with a Beast. His Mary is the immortal human who owns his heart and soul, together they make the most unlikely couple, yet they totally fit. Rhage is very humorous, he always has something funny to say and is very sweet, whereas Mary is very serious. I have to say I didn’t totally fully connect with Mary in Lover Eternal but in The Beast…I totally connected with her and fell in love with them as a couple. They truly convinced me that they completely belong together, they are meant for one another. “You are […]

Posted April 26, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 2 Comments

Flashback Friday Favorite: On Thin Ice (Ice #6) by Anne Stuart

Flashback Friday Favorite: On Thin Ice (Ice #6) by Anne Stuart

Reviews Crista says: 5 Stars! Why on earth does this author have the ability to leave me with a silly grin on my face while I replay countless scenes from the book in my head, which inadvertently prohibits me from moving on to my next book? I guess with this question, all roads lead to Rome, which is obviously this author’s unique, awesome, and unparalleled talent. On Thin Ice was an unexpected gift as I thought that Fire And Ice was the final chapter in the ICE series. Now instead of being grateful and satisfied, I find myself hoping that she will “surprise” me once more with another…and then another….and then […]

Posted April 22, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments