Once Perfect (Shattered Past, #1) by Cecy Robson

Posted October 17, 2014 by sweptawaybyromance in Uncategorized / 2 Comments

What it’s about

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t
supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them
together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult
debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught
in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay
her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the
ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the
privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But
something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA
fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled
pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his
sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond
waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to
her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn
returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what
nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to
save her.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20699759-once-perfect

Dorsey’s Review
4.5 Fighting For Love Stars!!

I really enjoyed this story. Mateo is an ex-Marine, ex-con and current nightclub
bouncer. Evelyn is a shunned debutant, part-time cocktail waitress and full
time nursing student. They’re both are wounded souls, trying to overcome their
many obstacles.

Evelyn lead the life of privilege until her world came crashing down with her
father’s suicide and the subsequent scandal that followed. Going from riches to
rags, she’s now a cocktail waitress at a nightclub to support herself while in
nursing school.

Mateo’s is the nightclub’s head of security and part-time (illegal) MMA
fighter. Evie catches his eye the moment she walks into the club to apply for a
job and he discreetly watches out for her ….you can actually feel Mateo’s longing for Evie.

Teo has baggage he thinks Evie won’t
want to accept, and sadly also thinks he’s not good enough for her, he has a
really messed up family situation. What Tao doesn’t realize is that Evie has
her own baggage, messed up family, and some pretty horrific demons that
continue to haunt her.

You find yourself hoping, longing and cheering that these two lost lonely souls
can find their way. Eventually when all is revealed, they overcome, and are in
love. They have learned to trust together……and
to knock all those obstacles out of their way!!!

I have to say I am soooooo looking forward to more in the series! Lety and  Brody’s book is next (Once Loved Jan 2015) and hopefully
Killian and Sofia’s book is not too far off!!!

*A copy of the book was provided by Random House Publishing-Loveswept via
NetGalley*
Connect with Cecy Robson


Tags: , , ,


Leave a Reply

2 Comments on "Once Perfect (Shattered Past, #1) by Cecy Robson"

Notify of
avatar

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Dorsey
Guest
5 years 4 months ago

Thanks Cecy!!! I'm really looking forward to Lety & Sophia' s books, these siblings have captured my heart!!!

Cecy
Guest
5 years 4 months ago

What an amazing review. Thank you for your words of praise and the feature! And yes, Sofia and Killian's story, Once Pure, releases May 2015. I hope you'll enjoy their journey, as well as Lety and Brody's!

wpDiscuz