Review: Lost Rider (Coming Home #1) by Harper Sloan

Posted August 23, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Lost Rider (Coming Home #1) by Harper SloanLost Rider by Harper Sloan
on April 25th 2017
Genres: Romance, Western, Contemporary
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N
Goodreads
four-stars
Source: Provided by NetGalley

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?

Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?



Crista’s Review

4 Stars!

The first romance novel I ever read was written by Diana Palmer and featured one of her typical brooding cowboy heroes.  I’ll always have a fondness for her and her heroes.  When I saw that this book was recommended for fans of Diana Palmer, I jumped at the chance to read and review it.

Lost Rider is just the kind of book that I love.  It features a heroine who’s been in love with the hero her entire life.  I love books where the main couple knew one another from the time they were teens.  It also features a wounded cowboy, both physically and emotionally.

If you are looking for an entertaining and heartfelt romance, this is definitely the book for you.  This series features a family of two brothers and a sister.  Maverick Austin Davis left his sister’s best friend, Leighton Elizabeth James heartbroken and devastated.   Although he broke her heart, Leighton has been unable to forget Maverick or move on with any other man.

When Maverick moves back home after medically having to retire from bull riding, Leighton is there and the chemistry is certainly still burning between them.  Leighton is very hesitant to put her heart on the line again and give Maverick another chance, and yet her heart clearly belongs to him.  I enjoyed the banter, resistance, and ultimate surrender to the power of their chemistry.

I loved this book.  Maverick and Leighton were truly destined for one another and the “second-chance” nature of their love story is one of the reasons that I love reading romance novels.

The great news about this book is that Quinn and Clay still have stories to be told, so hopefully, we’ll get more glimpses of Maverick and Leighton in the future.


 

About Harper Sloan

Harper is a NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL and USA TODAY bestselling author residing in Georgia with her husband and three daughters. She has a borderline unhealthy obsession with books, hibachi, tattoos and Game of Thrones. When she isn’t writing you can almost always find her with a book in hand.

Tags: , , ,


Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar

wpDiscuz