Review Rewind: Run from Fear (Dead Wrong #3) by Jami Alden

Posted June 17, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review Rewind: Run from Fear (Dead Wrong #3) by Jami AldenRun From Fear: Dead Wrong, Book 3 by Jami Alden
on November 5th 2012
Genres: Romance, Suspense
Buy on AmazonBuy on B&N
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Run From Fear is an unputdownable novel of romance, suspense, thrills and passion from Jami Alden, perfect for fans of Karen Rose.

More than anything, Talia Vega wanted to leave behind her harrowing past, and she succeeded...until the one man who knows her darkest secrets wanders into the restaurant where she works. Now the agonizing memories come crashing back - along with an undeniable desire for the ex-Green Beret who rescued her from a sadistic monster.

Jack Brooks knows that showing up unannounced is purely selfish. Talia doesn't need his protection, but he can't get the raven-haired beauty out of his mind. And when a twisted madman is hell-bent on resurrecting her torturous past, Jack vows to do anything to keep her safe - even risk his own life to save the only woman he's ever loved.



Steffi’s Review

3.5 Stars!

Run from Fear is the third and last book in Jami Alden’s very successful romantic suspense trilogy. Beg for Mercy totally blew me away and made me a huge fan of Jami’s writing.

We first meet Talia in Beg for Mercy when she withholds crucial information to protect herself and her little sister, Rosario. Maybe she didn’t always make the right decisions but they were understandable. Jack Brooks was the man who cottoned on to her secret and promised to always protect her and Rosie if she’d come forward. Two years later, Run from Fear tells Talia and Jack’s story. Talia has built a new life for herself and her sister and she finally feels safe again. Not once in the two years apart has she forgotten about Jack, though. Neither has Jack!

Unfortunately, Jack represents everything Talia wants to forget about and she practically beats herself up about wanting him. Jack can’t keep his feelings for Talia to himself anymore. He’s kept tabs on her over the years but he can’t help himself, he has to see her again, talk to her. Now Talia is the focus of a stalker and Jack is going to stick to her like glue.

Jack is truly amazing. He is very protective, sweet and gentle, no pushover and very hot. Talia doesn’t even realize that she has the jackpot right in front of her. While I did understand Talia’s hesitation to start another relationship after being the mistress of a vicious and cruel, crazy man, she never reached the point of forgiving herself and accepting that the past can’t be changed, in my opinion. That, especially, got very annoying after a while.

On its own, Run from Fear would have been a better than average suspense with a strong romance. In comparison to Beg for Mercy and Hide from Evil, it was very disappointing. I was also very annoyed by the villain of the story. Jami Alden could have turned this into an extraordinary book, had she not revealed the villain so early in the story. I never ever would have guessed. Unfortunately, she didn’t do that and I’m sad to say that Run from Fear was only an average read for me. The series is still worth reading. Beg for Mercy and Hide from Evil are in a league of their own and I highly recommend both books. Run from Fear did not affect me at all. A slightly disappointing end to a fabulous series!

*originally posted in 2012*

heart2-2

About Jami Alden

Jami Alden is an award-winning author of sexy contemporary romance and gritty romantic suspense. Her book BEG FOR MERCY was awarded the Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Romantic Suspense, and her contemporary ebook original, PRIVATE PLEASURES, was a top 10 bestseller on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iBooks. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. When she’s not writing, she enjoys running, reading, cooking, and watching a brain numbing quantity of food network programming.

Tags: , ,


Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar

wpDiscuz