Tag: Crista


Review: Lost Rider (Coming Home #1) by Harper Sloan

Review: Lost Rider (Coming Home #1) by Harper Sloan

Crista’s Review 4 Stars! The first romance novel I ever read was written by Diana Palmer and featured one of her typical brooding cowboy heroes.  I’ll always have a fondness for her and her heroes.  When I saw that this book was recommended for fans of Diana Palmer, I jumped at the chance to read and review it. Lost Rider is just the kind of book that I love.  It features a heroine who’s been in love with the hero her entire life.  I love books where the main couple knew one another from the time they were teens.  It also features a wounded cowboy, both physically and emotionally. If you […]

Posted August 23, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Twist (Dive Bar #2) by Kylie Scott

Review: Twist (Dive Bar #2) by Kylie Scott

Crista’s Review 4 Stars!  It is no secret that I have mad love for this author.  Kylie Scott wrote the Stage Dive series that still remains my favorite rock band series.  When I heard that Kylie Scott was writing a spin-off series to the Stage Dive series, I was quick to read Dirty, which I loved.  Twist is another great read that had me flipping pages as quickly as I could as I binged on this second installment of the Dive Bar Series. Alex Parks has traveled from Seattle to meet her online love interest, a man named Eric.  When she learns that it’s not actually Eric that she’s been developing […]

Posted August 9, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

Review: All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

Crista’s Review 2 Stars! Unfortunately, this book did not work for me.  I am all for forbidden and tragic storylines, but this one was too much for me to handle.  The premise of this book was intriguing: A child brought up in horrific surroundings, parents who personify neglect, and criminal activity finds love in the most unlikely of places.  However, the reality of this book dove into the darkness so deeply that I wasn’t able to find my way back to the light. This book spans the course of when Wavy is 8 years old to the time when she is a consenting adult.  We see her taking sole responsibility for […]

Posted July 10, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Every Little Thing (Hart’s Boardwalk #2) by Samantha Young

Review: Every Little Thing (Hart’s Boardwalk #2) by Samantha Young

Crista’s Review 4 Stars! Every Little Thing is the second book in Samantha Young’s Harts Boardwalk series.  This series has a very “small town” feel to it, in that all the character live in the same town of Hartwell, Delaware.  The characters are business owners, friends, and neighbors who all rub elbows with one another on a consistent basis.  I was not a huge fan of the first book in this series, The One Real Thing.  Thankfully, this book was markedly better than it’s predecessor. We met Vaughn Tremaine and Bailey Hartwell in the first book and I could not wait for their story.  They were sworn enemies who you knew […]

Posted July 3, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Hit the Spot (Dirty Deeds #2) by J. Daniels

Review: Hit the Spot (Dirty Deeds #2) by J. Daniels

Crista’s Review 3 ½ Stars! Hit the Spot is a book that I couldn’t wait to read after finishing Four-Letter Word.  The chemistry between Jaime and Tori was so evident in the first book that I couldn’t wait to see it finally play out.  I have found that couples who fight the most sometimes have incredibly explosive chemistry in and out of bed. Unfortunately, I found myself really put off by Jamie and his crude language and aggressive way of relating to Tori.  He came across as very immature, rude, and cocky.  Sometimes those types of heroes really work for me.  If the author is successful in getting them to soften […]

Posted June 26, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Four Letter Word (Dirty Deeds #1) by J. Daniels

Review: Four Letter Word (Dirty Deeds #1) by J. Daniels

Crista’s Review 4 Stars! Wow!  This book came out of nowhere and surprised the daylights out of me.  Here I thought I was going to reading a quick, steamy, and lighthearted romance, and instead I got THIS.  Four-Letter Word was anything but lighthearted.  This is a romance filled with so much angst that your heart hurts for a great portion of the book. Brian and Sydney have an unlikely romance in the fact that they meet after Sydney accidentally calls the wrong number.  Her intent is to unleash her fury on her best friend’s ex-boyfriend who has just broken her friend’s heart.  She dials the number and when “he” answers, she […]

Posted June 19, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Transfer (The Retrieval Duet #2) by Aly Martinez

Transfer (The Retrieval Duet #2) by Aly Martinez

Crista’s Review 5 stars! ***Spoiler-Free Review*** Please be careful when reading reviews about Transfer.  This second book in the Retrieval Duet must be experienced without knowing much about it to be enjoyed to its fullest. In a nutshell, Transfer is about Clare’s journey away from the darkness of her marriage and the monster with whom she is married into the light of freedom, safety, and love. Ever since watching Julia Roberts in the movie Sleeping With the Enemy, and then watching Julianne Hough in the movie Safe Haven, I have been looking for a book that would give me the same kind of butterflies and edge of my seat suspense that […]

Posted January 30, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet #1) by Aly Martinez

Review: Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet #1)  by Aly Martinez

Crista’s Review 4 Stars! Wow!  This is book 1 of a book “duet”, and let me tell you, I guarantee that after you read this, you’ll be reaching for the next book as quickly as you can!  This first book has a little bit of everything: heartbreak, forgiveness, renewal, and hope. This is the story of a couple who experience a huge tragedy that ultimately leads to their divorce.  It is told in alternating perspectives, which is important as their entire relationship is retold in a series of flashbacks. This book aptly named.  Roman is still completely in love with his ex-wife Elisabeth, and at the first sign of a green […]

Posted January 23, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

One Hot December by Tiffany Reisz

One Hot December by Tiffany Reisz

Crista’s Review 3 Stars! This is probably just a matter of personal preference and taste, but I liked this book the least of all the Men at Work holiday reads. The Halloween book and the Thanksgiving book were sweet and romantic reads.  One Hot December is actually much more in line with the Tiffany Reisz that I came to know while reading the Original Sinners series.  It is raunchy, tough, and definitely more sexually explicit.  I guess for me personally, I like more of a feel-good, romantic Christmas story and this book was anything but that. Veronica “Flash” Redding was one tough female lead.  A welder by trade, I just couldn’t […]

Posted January 10, 2017 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments

Review: Duke of Pleasure (Maiden Lane #11) by Elizabeth Hoyt

Review: Duke of Pleasure (Maiden Lane #11) by Elizabeth Hoyt

Crista’s Review 5 Stars! I wish that Duke of Pleasure could be made into a movie.  The drama, intrigue, romance, and larger than life characters would come alive on the big screen.  I also kept seeing the man on the cover in my mind while I read this novel, and I would love to see him in the flesh!! This can be read as a stand-alone, but it’s better if you’ve been reading the series and are familiar with the characters.  However, I am a reader of this series, and I’m not sure how I could’ve missed that Alf is a GIRL!!  Alf is a beloved character from previous books that […]

Posted November 4, 2016 by sweptawaybyromance in Review / 0 Comments